Why Do We Dream?

inquisitivetortoise

dreaming1 Key Dream Research Equipment

“What does my dream mean?!”

“Sorry…?”

“I’ve heard you study sleep. I mean I think I’ve worked it out myself but I wanted an expert opinion.”

“Erm…”

It doesn’t take long to drift into questions about dream analysis when I tell people that I study sleep. I don’t entirely blame them. It’s a subject which has fascinated society for millennia and it doesn’t look like that is going to stop any time soon. I’m sure most of us have had a dream which we are convinced has some greater significance: a dream about facing our fears or that person who you hadn’t thought about for years.

In the distant past, dreams were associated with divine will and prophetic qualities. Ancient Egyptian and Greek scholars produced dream manuals which were used to interpret nightly visions. Flash forward to the 19th and early 20th century and…

View original post 1,469 more words

