Treatise

Trudi Murray Art and Illustration

Black and white illustration of a male modelI had a dream last night in which someone wondered out loud to me, accusingly and in front of a sneering crowd, whether being an artist was indulgent. It was one of those naked in public dreams, you know the sort. In the dream, shocked and feeling attacked, I ran out into the garden, crying, and wriggled my toes in the grass and stretched up to the sky (like in a Sun Salutation!), as if to demonstrate that I belonged in this world. It was a little unsettling, as dreams go.

I suppose when you’re in the business of making art you are naked all the time (I’m not actually naked sitting here at my desk writing this, I am wearing jeans and a t-shirt and a cardigan covered in cat hair and stripey socks, just to let you know). Putting work out there, on the internet and in real life, is the…

View original post 377 more words

Leave a Reply

